Moller, Brown, Tiedemann earn rings with Arizona Fall League championship

November 12, 2023

New Balance Baseball Future Stars Series alums Ian Moller, Dasan Brown and Ricky Tiedemann are champions.

They were members of the Surprise Saguaros team in the Arizona Fall League that held on for a dramatic, 6-5 win over Peoria in Saturday night’s Championship Game. It caps off an exceptional year for Brown in particular, one in which he represented Team Canada in the World Baseball Classic, won a regular season championship with the Vancouver Canadians in High-A (alongside fellow FSS alum Adam Macko) and finished by winning another ring in the AFL.

Brown appeared at multiple combines and several installments of the FSS National Tournaments as a member of the Ontario Blue Jays, and earned an invitation to International Week in 2018, where he memorably tripled off of Mick Abel at Camelback Ranch. He appeared in Saturday night’s game as a late defensive replacement, but finished among the top 25 players in the league with a .274 batting average in 20 games.

Moller, a two-time participant in International Week himself, didn’t play on Saturday night, but also had a banner year, helping his Down East Wood Ducks to the Carolina League Championship Series before ultimately falling short. The Texas Rangers prospect hit .212 with two extra-base hits and an RBI in nine AFL games, used as part of a trio of catchers for Surprise.

As for Tiedemann, the newly crowned AFL Pitcher of the Year saw his time in Arizona come to an end well before the postseason started, but will earn a ring for his efforts in his four starts.

Mike Ashmore
Follow Mike

You may also like

2025 MLB Mock Draft

2025 MLB Mock Draft
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}